New mesh done by some old hands

Karma has been out shopping.

I have been checking out some of the new mesh offerings in Second Life with mixed results. I am not one of those folks who thinks mesh will change the face of Second Life as we now it, nor I am one of these who believes mesh is a curse upon all that is holy.

Some of what I have seen is fantastic. Some of it…uhm…not so much. A lot of what I call “hard goods” such as houses, structures and vehicles are where mesh really looks and functions well. However, presumably because this is where the money is, designers immediately started applying mesh to clothing. In many cases, this is probably the most difficult and least beneficial use of mesh. It can be a hard fit. Since mesh can not be adjusted, if it isn’t perfect out of the box, it is NEVER going to be perfect.  Being an avi of realistic proportion (as in not 7 feet tall) this makes mesh tricky at best for me. Often the smallest size provided by a designer fits me with all the style of a pillow case.

One thing thing that is becoming clear to me is that, designers who have established themselves with sculpts and textures, are producing the best mesh products as well. If you’re a good designer – well, then you are a good designer.

Some of the mesh products I have found that I really like are my new steampunk leather jacket “Ruth” from Dirty Lynx, and my new Magician’s Hat from Wasabi Pills. Both stores have long been a staple of mine and their designers have been establishing themselves long before mesh rolled in. Dirty Lynx was one of the first stores i ever visited in SL and to this day I think the textures in their clothing is still some of the best on the market. Wasabi Pills has always created well done hair style with just a bit of whimsy without being over the top.

So, if you are wanting to try out some new mesh products, my advice it to simply look at see what your old tried and true favorite designers of non-mesh clothing are doing. Chances are, they are creating something good.

Dirty Lynx

http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Bytegang/130/208/32

Wasabi Pills

http://slurl.com/secondlife/Coraline/206/135/53

Leave a Reply

